Commercialization Redefined


Commercialization Redefined.

This is so true and I believe applies beyond liberal arts graduates to include people like me – the preverable round peg who doesn’t fit into square opening. An accomplished intelligent 50something professional woman with a BSc, MBA, and 28 years diverse business experience and a broad range of transferable skills and competencies, having difficulty finding suitable work because I’m either overqualified or underqualified. Employers say they want quality people as employees, yet the application process, largely online, is designed to find specifically defined technical and task orientated job skills rather than strong thinking, problem solving and interpersonal skills. I have a theory that the unemployment rate in Canada could be reduced by at least a couple percentage points if all the candidates applications sitting in on-line in servers were actually screened by people instead of computer programs. I have no data to support my theory, just my own experience of posting my resume online and completing countless online job applications that I never receive a reply to other than the computer generated auto-response. Perhaps one day I’ll research this…that is when I have some spare time in between my current full time job of completing online job applications.

About tether abundance

abundance tetherer, social advocate, bodacious blogger, jill of all trades, rebel businesswoman, ah-ha coach, caring friend, soul sister, blessed daughter, laughin', learnin' & lovin' along the thrilling roller coaster journey of my life. Personable and perceptive, I'm all about the abundance, the glass half full, I get jazzed about making a difference where I can together with other people. Like everyone, I've lived through the good, the bad and the ugly times, personally and professionally, that are inevitable in life's journey. Along the way, I've been fortunate to learn non-stop, get a BSc.and MBA, and had my fair share of success over 28 years working with a fascinating array of people in a diverse range of industries, sectors and organizations, from single person entrepreneurs to global Fortune 500 companies.
This entry was posted in Business Effectiveness, leadership & learning, OD Effectiveness, things that make you go 'mmmmm'.... Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

